Who voted for who at the FIFA Best Awards as Lionel Messi wins?

by ace

Today´s Deals

Barcelona Talisman Lionel Messi was crowned FIFA Player of the Year on Monday night.

The Argentine international beat Liverpool's Virgil van Dijk and Juventus's Cristiano Ronaldo for the prize.

Messi won the award for the sixth time in his illustrious career after raising the trophy in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2015.

The Nou Camp talisman helped Barcelona win the league and guided the Spanish giants to the Champions League semifinals.

The awards are based on performances from July 16, 2018 to July 19, 2019 and were voted by supporters, national coaches of FIFA Member Associations, captains of their teams and also by a select group of football journalists from these countries.

But who did Messi, Van Dijk and Ronaldo vote before Monday night's performance?

The first vote of Barcelona star Messi went to Liverpool's Sadio Mane.

The star of the Reds was key, as Jurgen Klopp's men won the Champions League for the last time.

Messi's second vote went to his arch-rival Ronaldo, while his new Barcelona team-mate Frenkie De Jong got his third vote.

Van Dijk of Livepool voted for Messi, Mohamed Salah and Mane.

Many felt that Salah and Mane should have been shortlisted, with former Premier League star Samuel Eto expressing his frustration before the performance.

When asked who the Male Player of the Year should be, he said, "Salah or Mane … but they are not here!"

Meanwhile, Juventus star Ronaldo has not even voted for his former La Liga rival Messi.

The Portugal striker gave his first vote to his new Juventus teammate Matthijs de Ligt.

Frenkie De Jong and Kylian Mbappe also received votes from the former Real Madrid player.

England's captain Harry Kane voted for the three nominees.

Tottenham star voted for Messi, Van Dijk and Ronaldo respectively.

Gareth Southgate – England Coach

(1) Lionel Messi (2) Cristiano Ronaldo (3) Virgil van Dijk

Lionel Messi – Argentine Captain

(1) Sadio Mane (2) Cristiano Ronaldo (3) Frenkie de Jong

Cristiano Ronaldo – Portugal captain

(1) Ligt matthijs (2) Jong frenkie (3) Kylian Mbappe

Harry Kane – Captain of England

(1) Lionel Messi (2) Virgil van Dijk (3) Cristiano Ronaldo

Luka Modric – Croatian captain

(1) Cristiano Ronaldo (2) Eden Hazard (3) Lionel Messi

Hugo Lloris – Captain of France

(1) Lionel Messi (2) Cristiano Ronaldo (3) Kylian Mbappe

Manuel Neuer – Captain of Germany

(1st) Virgil van Dijk (2nd) Sadio Mane (3rd) Eden Hazard

Virgil van Dijk – Netherlands captain

(1) Lionel Messi (2) Mohamed Salah (3) Sadio Mane

Sergio Ramos – Spain captain

(1) Eden Hazard (2) Cristiano Ronaldo (3) Mohamed Salah

Eden Hazard – Belgian Captain

(1) Sadio Mane (2) Virgil van Dijk (3) Lionel Messi

Seamus Coleman – Captain of the Republic of Ireland

(1) Lionel Messi (2) Virgil van Dijk (3) Cristiano Ronaldo

Andrew Robertson – Scottish Captain

(1) Virgil van Dijki (2) Frenkie of Jong (3) Sadio Mane

Recommended Shopping



Related Articles

Leave a Comment

eighteen + 14 =

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More